By Aidan Hopson

In the latest round up of the Huddersfield District League results we saw a number of clubs win titles, gain promotion and fight against relegation as a crucial weekend of action took place. 

Newsome moved to within a point of division 1 leaders Heywood Irish Centre following goals from Doran Jordan and Steven Marshall in a 2-0 win at Shepley. Sam Lee scored for Fothergill and Whittles in their 1-0 win away at Berry Brow. A brace from Jordan Saville was not enough for Scholes as they lost 4-2 at home to Slaithwaite United. Ashley Beardsall (two), Ben Boulton and Tom Dyson scoring for Slowit.

Dalton Dynamos clinched the division 2 title with a fine 3-0 win away at Lepton Highlanders with goals from Craig Thompson (two) and Ryan Walton. Jake Waterson took his goals total to 36 for the season with a hattrick in Britannia Sports 3-2 win at home to Holme Valley Academicals. Milo Kelly and Adam McKie scoring for the Accies. Almondbury Woolpack remain in the relegation places following a 3-2 loss away at Kirkburton. Courtney Allert and Daniel Bradley scored for the Woolpack and Mikey Vickerman, Luke Walker and Jack Woods scored for Kirkburton. 

Moorside clinched promotion to division 2 following goals from Jason Evans (two), Joseph Fagan two), Sean Salford (two) and James Nuttall in a 7-1 win at Marsden with John Conheeney scoring the consolation for Marsden. Prior to kick-off there was a minute’s applause for Moorside founding member Dave “Flicker” Meredith who has recently lost a long battle against cancer. The League’s President Mrs Margaret Whitaker attended to pay her respects and the Moorside players and officials wore “For Flicker” t-shirts to mark the occasion. Scissett with goals from Cameron France, Richard Humphrey, Chris Johnson and Joshua Jones beat Brook Motors 4-1 with Kyle Silkstone scoring for the Motors. An Adam Taylor hattrick and a brace from Ashley Cutts saw Hade Edge beat Meltham Athletic 5-3. Jack Ellis-Pownall, Louis Carmody and Nathan Moore scoring for Meltham.

The division 4 title battle went right down to the final game of the season as AFC Volunteers who had to win and leaders Wooldale Wanderers played out a 1-1 draw at Westfield Park. Lewis Brierley opened the scoring in the first half for the Volunteers before Jack Holroyd equalised for Wooldale in the second half.

In the reserves section division 1 Fothergill and Whittles stayed in touch with leaders Newsome thrashing Berry Brow 6-1 with Alex Lloyd scoring the consolation goal for the Brow.

Elliott Stevenson was the hero for Cumberworth as his goal sent his team 5 points clear at the top of division 2 in a 1-0 win away at Scholes. Richard Botchway and Michael Foster scored for Brook Motors as they were held to a 2-2 draw with Holmbridge whose goals were scored by Craig Hill and Gary Myers.

Slaithwaite United clinched the division 3 title with a thumping 8-0 win away at Mount with goals from Joshua Roberts, Dominik Moorhouse, James North, Bradley Howe, Scott Garside (two) and Joshua Moore (two). Berry Brow A are clinging on to the runners up spot despite a 2-1 defeat at home to Linthwaite A. The win puts Linthwaite in third place a point behind the Brow.  A Bailey Roy hattrick with goals from Cameron Wilkey and Stephen Chandler saw Grange Moor Saints run out 5-1 winners over Cumberworth A whose goal was scored by John Hunter.

Jonathan Mc Kinley scored both for Cumberworth B as they completed their division 4 campaign with a 2-2 draw away at Hade Edge A. Ethen McElroy scored both for Hade Edge. Jack Harrison and Steven Mitchell scored for Kirkheaton Rovers in their 2-0 win at home to Berry Brow B. Scissett Development dropped the points to bottom club Honley in a 4-3 defeat. Edward Hinchliffe (two), Terry Murphy and Kyle Stansfield scored for Honley.

Netherton progressed into the semi-finals of the Barlow Cup with a hard fought 3-2 win over Kirkheaton Rovers with goals from Ryan Burchael, Alex Vickerman and the evergreen Adam Robertshaw. Seb O’Connor and Oliver Martin scoring for Kirkheaton.

Lepton Highlanders of the Yorkshire Amateur League are through to the Huddersfield FA Challenge Cup semi-finals with a Ross Wood goal in their 1-0 win over division 1 leaders Heywood Irish Centre. Deighton are also through with goals from Dwayne Wilkinson, Ben Stott and Jamal Simpson in a hard fought 3-1 win away at Holmbridge whose goal was scored by Charlie Allen. Linthwaite took the last place in the semi-finals with a narrow 2-1 win at home to Diggle.

Kyle Matthews (two) and Omar Sinclair scored for Deighton to send them through to the semi-final of the Huddersfield FA Trophy in their 3-1 win at home to AFC Lindley. Craig Taylor scoring for Lindley. Dalton Dynamos A are also through to the semi-finals beating Skelmanthorpe 7-2. Newsome with goals from Lee Bradshaw, Adam Hill (two), Levi Maturine (two) and Deon Simmonds moved through to the quarterfinals with a 6-2 win over Shelley.