Pace bowler Jacob Littlewood spearheaded a fine team performance as Scholes lifted the Sellers Huddersfield Junior League’s Under 13 Examiner Salver.

Man-of-the-match Littlewood took four wickets for just one run in his three overs to put the skids under Golcar in the showpiece final staged by Almondbury Wesleyan CC.

There was no way back for the Colne Valley side as spinner Ryan Stokes kept up the pressure with three for six in two overs and, with skipper Alfie Marsh and opener Jack Sharkey chipping in with a wicket apiece, Golcar were dismissed for just 24 in nine overs.

Thomas Sheehan top scored for Golcar with nine, while Aiden Shaw was left five not out.

Scholes made short work of their reply, securing a 10-wicket win in 2.3 overs with Charlie Schrumm 13 not out and Sharkey undefeated on 12.

Littlewood had claimed two for two in Scholes’ semi-final win over Slaithwaite, who were 88 all out in reply to 139 in which Sharkey and Rudy Roach retired on 25.

Golcar posted an imposing 146-3 in their 20 overs per side semi-final win against Broad Oak with Jack Rothery, Max Mellor and Archie Howson all retiring.

Broad Oak replied with 92-9, George Freeland retiring on 25. George Podger did the bulk of the damage for Golcar with three for five.

Finals day squads:

Scholes: Alfie Marsh (capt), Jack Sharkey, Jacob Littlewood, Ryan Stokes, Charlie Schrumm, Megan Sugden, Freddie Hanks, Rudy Roach, William Sherlock, Harry Lewis (wkt), William Priest, Sam Avery. Manager: Craig Marsh. Scorer: Tony Sherlock.

Golcar: Jack Rothery (capt), Stan Marriott (wkt), Max Mellor, Harrison Mellor, Ben Gash, Amelia Turner, Jack Hammond, Archie Howson, Daniel Collins, Owen Goddard, Thomas Sheehan, Thomas Pearson, Aiden Shaw, George Podger. Manager: Mick Brook. Scorer: Will Noth.

Slaithwaite: Jack Kaye (capt, wkt), Sonny Taylor, Isaac Grimes, Ollie Fielden, Alfie Stevenson, Arlo Brook, Theo Solomou, Isaac Smith, James Sanderson, Brandon Johnson, Bode Ratcliffe, Ollie Simpson. Manager: Dave Berry.

Broad Oak: Joel Caulfield (capt), Toby Brierley, Geroge Freeland, Corey Robinson (wkt), Oliver James, Archie Clayton, Logan Gordon, Seth Ellam, Daim Nazir, Tyler Wilkins, Jayden Harrison, Max Mellor, Joe Howard. Manager: Martin Caulfield. Scorer: Jon Brierley.

here are some images from the day.