By Aidan Hopson

There was a double celebration for Dalton Dynamos as the first team clinched the Division 2 title without kicking a ball while Dalton Dynamos A were crowned Division 4 champions after beating Hade Edge A 3-2.

At the top of Huddersfield District League’s Division 1 Heywood Irish Centre extended their lead to seven points as they thrashed Shepley 7-0.

Two goals each from Kieron Mayall, Nathan Mayall and Nathan Eastwood and another from Jez Robinson completed the rout.

On Tuesday night second-placed Newsome were surprisingly beaten at home by Scholes 3-1. Nathan Spencer scored for Newsome and Sam Thompson (two) and Callum McLoughlin scored for Scholes.

Ashley Beardsall, Adam Bower and Tom Dyson scored as Slaithwaite United continued their winning run with a 3-2 win away at Fothergill and Whittles.

Holmbridge had a good 5-3 win away at Linthwaite Athletic with goals from Robert Parr (four) and Sam Hobson.

Holmbridge hosted Slaithwaite United on Tuesday with both clubs on a good run of form. Goals from Max Morley (two), Robert Parr (two) and Jack Heap saw Holmbridge move up to fourth in a 5-1 win. Ashley Beardsall scored the consolation for Slawit.

Wayne Shooter and Joe Wilson scored as Berry Brow beat Scholes 2-1.

Dalton Dynamos were confirmed as the Division 2 champions without kicking a ball as opponents Kirkburton could not raise a team.

Huddersfield Laund Hill moved up to fifth place with goals from James Knowles (two), Joe Muxworthy and Matthew Lorryman in a 4-3 win away at Cumberworth. Arron Smith, Elliott Stevenson and James Earnshaw scored for Cumberworth.

The race for the second promotion spot will go to the last games of the season as Britannia Sports moved to three points off second place with games in hand after their 2-0 win over Kirkheaton Rovers. Mike Annoville and Harry Castledine scored the goals for Britannia.

Division 4 champions Dalton Dynamos A

Division 3 champions Deighton were presented with their trophies by the president of the league, Mrs Margaret Whitaker.

Moorside finished second and will join Deighton next season in Division 2. Moorside were due to play Meltham Athletic in the semi-final of the Groom Cup on Thursday April 14. The second semi-final between Scissett and Wooldale Wanderers was on the same night.

Wooldale Wanderers are Division 4 champions with newcomers AFC Volunteers finishing as runners-up.

In the reserves section Newsome remain top of Division 1 but Linthwaite Athletic with games in hand moved to within nine points of the top following a 6-0 win over second placed Fothergill and Whittles. Dalton Dynamos beat Berry Brow 5-2 and Deighton beat Netherton 3-2.

Cumberworth are Division 2 champions with the runners-up place still to be decided. AFC Lindley missed the chance to go clear in second losing 3-2 away at Scissett. Ryan Trafford, Jordan Geldart and Richard Humphrey scored for Scissett. Almondbury Woolpack lost 3-2 at home to Britannia Sports A and Holme Valley Academicals drew 1-1 with Meltham Athletic.

In the Richardson Cup Linthwaite Athletic moved through to the semi-final by beating Diggle 4-0. Linthwaite will play Cumberworth on Tuesday April 19 at Newsome kick-off 6.15pm. The second Richardson Cup semi-final is between Dalton Dynamos and Berry Brow on Tuesday April 19 at Britannia Sports kick-off 6.15pm.

In Division 3 Hade Edge were held to a rare 0-0 draw by Netherton A and Berry Brow A moved up to third with a 3-2 win away at Division 3 champions Slaithwaite United. Linthwaite Athletic A stay second with a 3-2 win over Deighton A.

Division 4 champions Dalton Dynamos A celebrated in style beating Hade Edge A 3-2 with Andrew Daisey and Adam Taylor scoring for the Edge.

Berry Brow lifted the Barlow Cup for the first time in their history last year. Image by: SEAN DOYLE

In the Gee Cup semi-finals Dalton Dynamos A will play Berry Brow A at Lepton Highlanders on Thursday April 21 at 6.15pm and Netherton A will play Slaithwaite United at Britannia Sports on the same night with kick-off also at 6.15pm.

In the Huddersfield FA Trophy Newsome outclassed Britannia Sports 8-0 with goals from Adam Hill (three), Thomas Stockdale, Levi Maturine (two) and Deon Simmonds (two).

The Barlow Cup semi-finals will both be played at Britannia Sports on Easter Monday. Scholes will play Newsome kick-off 11am and Netherton will play Heywood Irish Centre kick-off 2pm. Admission to these games is £4 for adults and £2 for concessions with children under 10 admitted free.

The final of the Richardson Cup will be held at Golcar United on Friday April 29 kick-off at 7pm.

The final of the Barlow Cup will be held at Shelley on Tuesday May 3 kick-off at 7pm.

The final of the Groom Cup will be held at Shelley on Thursday May 5 kick-off at 7pm.

The final of the Gee Cup will be held at Golcar on Friday May 13 kick-off at 7pm.