By Mel Booth

Tight late-order bowling enabled Holmfirth to lift the Huddersfield Junior Cricket League Under 13 Examiner Salver for the second time in their history.

Having been restricted to 112 by neighbours Upperthong in the final at Emley Clarence, Holmfirth were put under the cosh as openers Tom Frankland (25) and Thomas Ingram (27) both retired and the chase moved to 81 without loss.

Upperthong stayed ahead of the rate beyond half way in the 20 overs per-side showpiece, but the tide turned when man-of-the-match Stanley Hall bowled a wicket maiden in the 15th over and Holmfirth then squeezed their opponents to a final total of 102-4.

Hall finished with figures of three overs, two maidens, one for two and despite the best efforts of Oscar Mitchell (17) and Matthew Westmoreland (14 not out) Upperthong could not accelerate quickly enough against the likes of Mo Brown (one for 15 off three).

Opener Freddie Barraclough was the backbone of the Holmfirth innings, retiring on 25 in the 12th over, by which time his side were 67-4 thanks to Upperthong captain Archie Storer taking three for nine in his three overs.

An unbeaten 13 off six, including two boundaries, from Lain Sutton took Holmfirth into three figures despite Mitchell finishing with two for one and Ben Kilner two for eight.

Holmfirth, who were the first winners of the trophy in 1975, defeated Shepley in the semi-finals, posting 102-4 (Oliver Clee 25 ret) and restricting the reply to 95-7 (Will Goldthorpe 25 ret).

Upperthong overhauled an Armitage Bridge total of 107-8 in 16 overs in their semi-final, with Frankland, Ingram and Mitchell all retiring.


Holmfirth: Billy Clee, Albie Wilkinson, Freddie Barraclough, Mohamed Brown, Charlie Best, Ben Driver, Stanley Hall, Oliver Clee, Lain Sutton, Fin Ward, Angus Cowan, Seth Webster. Manager: Matthew Clee. Scorer: Sarah Clee.

Upperthong: Archie Storer, Josh Bacon, Tom Frankland, Louis Heap, Thomas Ingram, Ben Kilner, Oscar Mitchell, Euan Moncreiff, Matthew Westmoreland, Charlie Worthington, Joe Worthington, Charlie Sommerville. Managers: Andrew Heap, Paul Storer. Scorer: Jacob Westmoreland.

Shepley: William Goldthorpe, Noah Bailey, Dale Lumb, Isaac Pitcher, Jacob Hennell, Samuel Robinson, Zander Erving, Ewan Munro, Callum Rose, Samuel Goldthorpe, Seb Flood. Manager: Tom Goldthorpe.

Armitage Bridge: Billy Chadwick, Oliver Baylis, Franky Boswell, Finn Hirst, Muhammad Abdullah, Ayaan Mubarak, Jacob Neaverson, Ben Swift, Harry Kynaston Turner, Henry Lubelski, Ahmed Akram, Austin Thompson. Manager: Wayne Swift. Scorer: Billy Waterson.

Umpires: Paul Addy, Rodger Beaumont, Michael Onions.